h1

Christmas in the Park

December 5, 2011
Christmas in the Park

Taken with Motorola Droid X using HDR Camera

I took this picture at Christmas in the Park in downtown San Jose on December 1st. It was 71 degrees out. It didn’t feel right to me at all, I mean, it looked and felt like the middle of summer and there was a whole Christmas exhibition setup downtown complete with “Winter Wonderland” blaring from the speakers.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the amazingly warm weather, but Christmas just isn’t Christmas without the cold weather and snow. I guess that’s why they try to simulate it with all the tacky white plastic sheets they put on the ground and the fake snow falling from light posts, though.

It’s weird, because I never much liked the concept of Christmas that much anyway. But now that I’m on the verge of experiencing my first Christmas without snow, family and friends — I miss it. A lot.

And I kind of love this picture. Even if it is all fake.

Leave a Reply

